Awards & Recognition

Awards and Recognition

OHSU Nursing is proud of its nurses and awards. OHSU holds Magnet designation for nursing excellence. OHSU is also a Joint Commission-certified Comprehensive Stroke Center, Oregon’s first accredited chest pain center and a Level 1 trauma center.

Our nurses are part of the amazing work these centers do every day.

Magnet designation

OHSU is proud to be designated a Magnet hospital. Just 6 percent of U.S. health care organizations hold this designation from the American Nurses Credentialing Center. It is the highest recognition a nursing program can receive.

Our Magnet designation also celebrates OHSU as an organization that attracts highly qualified nurses, physicians and specialists, fosters collaboration across disciplines and improves patient care through high standards.

Read more about Magnet Recognition

Beacon Award for Critical Care Excellence

Two OHSU nursing units, the Cardiovascular and Medical ICUs, received the Beacon Award from the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses.

Why does the Beacon Award mean so much? It was created by nurses, for nurses, to recognize critical care units that improve every aspect of care in this challenging environment. The Beacon recognizes these units’ professionalism and outstanding care as well as OHSU’s commitment to a work environment that promotes nurse development.

Read more about the Beacon Award

Other awards and achievements

Comprehensive Stroke Center certification

The Joint Commission recognizes the Oregon Stroke Center at OHSU’s Brain Institute as one of the few elite providers of comprehensive stroke care in the nation. This recognition confirms our leadership in stroke treatment and research.

Comprehensive stroke centers have extensive capabilities beyond the standards for Primary Stroke Center certification. OHSU was the first hospital in the Northwest—and one of just 27 U.S. hospitals—to earn Comprehensive Stroke Center certification.

Chest Pain Center accreditation

OHSU was Oregon’s first hospital accredited for its chest pain center by the Society of Cardiovascular Patient Care. These nationally recognized experts verified that OHSU provides heart attack patients with the best care available. OHSU is one of only two Oregon hospitals with this designation.

VAD Center of Excellence

OHSU is the region’s only Center of Excellence for ventricular assist device implantation. A VAD is a mechanical pump that takes over heart function. It can help patients survive outside the hospital while waiting for a heart transplant.

Verified Trauma Center

The American College of Surgeons Committee on Trauma recognized  OHSU’s Level 1 trauma center as having the resources to deliver optimal trauma care as well as safe, high-quality, outcome-based patient care.

Get with the Guidelines Gold Plus Award

The American Heart Association and American Stroke Association honored OHSU with a Gold Plus award in 2013 for high adherence to the Get With the Guidelines Stroke Performance Achievement Indicators. The award recognizes OHSU’s efforts to improve quality of patient care and outcomes.

Anticoagulation Center of Excellence

OHSU has achieved designation as an Anticoagulation Center of Excellence. To achieve this 2-year recognition, OHSU completed a rigorous assessment that measured our practice against five key areas of patient care. The Anticoagulation Centers of Excellence program helps healthcare professionals provide the highest level of care and achieve the best possible outcomes for patients on antithrombotic medications. The program also gives us ongoing access to a rich library of resources providing guidelines and tools to keep up with the changing field of anticoagulation.

Nurses of the Year

Every year during National Nurses Week - May 6-12, OHSU recognizes some of its outstanding nurses. Nurse of the Year awards are given in 11 categories:

  • Advanced Practice Nurse
  • Advancing and Leading the Profession
  • Ancillary Staff in Nursing Services
  • Clinical Care
  • Community Service
  • Management
  • Mentoring
  • Teaching
  • Nightingale Award
  • Distinguished Nurse Award
  • Virginia I. Sznewajs Award for Palliative Care