Gertontology Student Support

Students working and talking
Students collaborate at Vollum writing workshop

The John A. Hartford Foundation has created a strong tradition of building academic geriatric nursing capacity through mentorship. This helps prepare the next generations of gerontological nursing leaders. Here at the OHSU School of Nursing’s Hartford Center of Gerontological Excellence faculty continue that tradition. Through mentoring, faculty commit to providing a firm foundation for academic careers. Our faculty work closely with Ph.D. students, advance practice nursing students, and undergraduate students. Together, they contribute substantively to the knowledge base related to care for older adults.


OHSU nursing students demonstrate a commitment to careers in nursing education, practice, and research that will benefit older adults.  To support their studies, gerontological nursing students have successfully attracted over $4 million in financial support since 2002.

The Hearst Endowed Scholarship

The Hartford Center of Gerontological Excellence is honored to steward the Hearst Endowed Scholarship. The goal of The Hearst Foundations’ scholarship is to prepare advanced practice nurses whose focus is on the health and health care of older adults. This scholarship provides funding for students whose focus is on gerontological advanced practice nursing and are enrolled in the final year of study for Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP) programs at OHSU's School of Nursing. These include the Family Nurse Practitioner, Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner, and Adult Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner programs.

Michaelson Scholarship recipients 2018-19
Allison Miles, Lisa Pusateri and Nathan Samuel
Michaelson Scholarship recipients 2018-19

Michaelson Geriatric Endowed Scholarship

The goal of The Michaelson Geriatric Endowed  Scholarship is to prepare advanced practice nurse educators with the advanced knowledge needed to address the health and health care needs of older adults. This scholarship provides support for students enrolled in their second year of study in the Master of Nursing Education (MNE) program at OHSU's School of Nursing. Students must show a commitment to the health and health care needs of older adults. 

Undergraduate gerontological nursing honors program

The Gerontological Nursing Honors Program (GNHP) was designed for outstanding undergraduate nursing students to receive additional mentorship and credits related to working with older adults. This unique honors program helped undergraduate students to better understand the needs of our aging population and prepared students for taking the next steps in their education with an in-depth focus in gerontological nursing.
We funded nearly
$ 80,000 in scholarships for these dedicated students through a grant from The Hearst Foundations.

Class of 2019 Gerontological Nursing Honors Program Graduates

Megan Burkey
Katherine Carlson
Natashia Cheek
Rachel Isabell Codd
Anna Gray

National graduate fellowships and scholarships

2015-2017 National Research Service Award 
Quin Denfeld

2014-2016 Claire M. Fagin Fellow 
Corey Nagel

2014-2016 Patricia G. Archbold Scholar 
Daniel Mick

2014-2016 National Research Service Award 
Lyndsey Miller
Julie Bidwell

2013-2015 Patricia G. Archbold Scholars 
Julie Bidwell 
Quin Denfeld

2012-2014 Patricia G. Archbold Scholar 
Lyndsey Miller

2011-2013 JAHF BAGNC Predoctoral Scholar 
Paula Nagy

2010-2012 Claire M. Fagin Fellow 
Teresa Goodell

2009-2011 Claire M. Fagin Fellow 
Glenise McKenzie

2009-2011 JAHF BAGNC Predoctoral Scholars 
Corey Nagel 
Kris Weymann

2008-2010 JAHF BAGNC Predoctoral Scholar
Yi Yan

2007-2009 Claire M. Fagin Fellow 
Elena Siegel

2007-2009 JAHF BAGNC Predoctoral Scholars 
Rebecca Scobee 
Miriam Volpin

2006-2008 JAHF BAGNC Predoctoral Scholars 
Elizabeth Caley 
Carol Kemp 
Kathryn Sexson

2005 - 2007 JAHF BAGNC Predoctoral Scholars 
Colleen Casey 
Kristen Swafford

2004 JAHF BAGNC Predoctoral Scholar 
Casey Raquel Shillam

2003 JAHF BAGNC Predoctoral Scholars 
Carla Hagen 
Jeanette O'Brien

2002 JAHF BAGNC Predoctoral Scholar 
Karen E. Greco

2001 JAHF BAGNC Predoctoral Scholar 
Karen B. Tetz

2001 JAHF BAGNC Post-doctoral Scholar 
Lissi Hansen