School of Nursing


1940s nurses reading a magazine

Puhaty Lecture 2019

The Future of an Integrated & Digitally-Enabled System of Care

Monday, November 11, 2019
5 p.m. reception, 6 p.m. lecture, Pacific Standard Time
Vey Conference Center, 11th floor, Doernbecher Children’s Hospital
Livestreaming will be available here shortly before the lecture

Speaker: Kristi Henderson, DNP, NP-C, FAAN, FAEN
Henderson is a healthcare executive with over 25 years of experience as a digital health leader, innovator, health advocate, educator, researcher and clinician. Before joining Amazon, she designed and launched AscensionConnect a national hub for Ascension’s virtual care, digital health and patient access operations. She holds an appointment as a Clinical Professor of Population Health at the Dell Medical School at the University of Texas-Austin with a successful track record using digital health tools to enable and scale new models of care. She is well known for her statewide Telehealth model in Mississippi which has been recognized as one of only two Centers of Excellence by HRSA. To RSVP, please email us at

Reunion 2019

The 2019 SNAA Reunion took place on Sunday, June 23 at the Multnomah Athletic Club in Portland, Ore. Photos from the event are available here.

The School of Nursing Alumni Association (SNAA) is made up of over 13,500 individuals, located in all fifty U.S. states and over five continents in countries ranging from Australia to Thailand and Colombia to Zambia. Membership is free and automatic to all OHSU School of Nursing graduates who have received a degree from the School of Nursing (formerly the University of Oregon Nursing School), Oregon Health & Science University.

Guided by an Advisory Council, the SNAA strives to increase the connections between alumni, the School of Nursing and each other through printed and electronic updates about the impact of the School of Nursing and its alumni on health and healthcare; mentoring, advising and job postings; social and educational gathering;and much more! This site is dedicated to you in hopes you will visit it often to stay informed and engaged.

How can you become involved? Participate in your class reunion, attend or organize an alumni event in your area, and donate your time, talent and treasure to help us advance the School of Nursing and the role of our profession in meeting the healthcare needs of the 21st century. Contact any of the Council members below to share your ideas, feedback and ways you'd like to help, or email the Alumni Relations program at

The History of the OHSU School of Nursing

The History of the OHSU School of Nursing is now available online. Written at the suggestion of Dean Emerita Carol Lindeman by Barbara Conway Gaines, RN, EdD, it covers the period 1910 - 1960, following the journey from the creation and development of the school through to its emergence as one of the nations leading schools of nursing. Please contact us at alumni@ohsu.eduif you would like a paper copy.

School of Nursing Alumni Advisory Council 2018-2019

Deb Carter, BS '77, RN (President) (contact Deb)
Thomas Blackman, BS '14 - La Grande (contact Tom)
Lauren Danahy, BS '07 (contact Lauren)
Emily James, BS '14 - Portland (contact Emily)
Tony Kyle, BS '16 –Ashland (contact Tony)
Jane McEldowney, BSN '63, RN, NCSN - Bend. OHSU Foundation Board Representative (contact Jane)
Adora McDougal, BS '16 - Portland (contact Adora)
Peggy Wros, PhD '93 - Portland (contact Peggy)

The Council continues to seek alumni who are interested in participating.
Please contact (503) 552-0667 for additional information.


Many of our students appreciate the opportunity to speak with a mentor both during and after their studies. Mentors help alumni with decisions around specialty choice, resume and application review and career trajectory and advancement. If you would like to participate as a mentor, please contact us at


Recognize a colleague's lifetime achievements by nominating them for the Alumni Association's Alumna-us of the Year Award! Nominations are due October 25, 2019. More information is available here. Read about our most recent Alumnus of the Year and Early Career Achievement Award recipients!