Wy'east Post Baccalaureate Application

Wy'east Application

The Wy’east Pathway is designed as a post-baccalaureate pathway for American Indian and Alaska Native students to prepare them for successful application for medical school and to excel as medical students and physicians. Note that there is no longer a career change pathway. Please read the below carefully for all requirements and deadlines.

Pathway at a glance: 

  • One year pathway (September – June)
  • Intensive coursework
  • Foundational science of medicine
  • MCAT preparation course
  • Population health and health disparities
  • Academic skills and wellness
  • Clinical observation
  • Research project
  • Cultural activities
  • Successful pathway completion = admittance into OHSU School of Medicine

Pathway eligibility:

  • Successful completion of an undergraduate degree (BS, BA) at an accredited 4-year college or university
  • Prior application to OHSU or any medical school or osteopathic school, or readiness to apply demonstrated by completion of premed requirements, graduation from an accredited undergraduate institution
  • Previously taken the MCAT (We understand there have been disruptions to MCAT testing due to COVID-19. If your test has been rescheduled, please note this on your application. We will be reviewing these on a case-by-case basis)
  • Overall GPA >2.8
  • American Indian or Alaska Native
  • Tribal Citizen or descendant
  • Preference will be given to Oregon residents, Oregon heritage, or citizens of Pacific Northwest tribes

Application Includes:

  • Primary Application (opens April 1, 2020) link HERE
  • Secondary Application will be sent after primary application is complete
  • 2 letters of recommendation (use this form)
  • Unofficial transcripts

Wy’east Costs:

  • No tuition or enrollment fee
  • Scholars receive modest monthly stipend but are responsible for their own living expenses
  • The Wy’east post-bac is not an official academic program at OHSU, will award no degree, and students will not be eligible for financial aid

Important dates:

  • Application cycle opens on April 1, 2020
  • Application cycle closes and all materials due on May 31, 2020
  • Applicants screened and invited for interview in early June 2020
  • OHSU Interview Day is June 18, 2020
  • WSU Interview Day is June 12, 2020
  • Decision emails sent first week of July 2020
  • Program begins September 2020

For further information, see the FAQ.