LeAnn Michaels Awarded 2022 Outstanding Research Coordinator by NAPCRG

LeAnn Michaels with NAPCRG award

LeAnn Michaels, ORPRN's Director of Clinical Trials accepted the Outstanding Research Coordinator Award at the NAPCRG 50th Annual Meeting, held in Phoenix, AZ. NAPCRG is a multidisciplinary organization for primary care researchers.

LeAnn has been at ORPRN since 2008 in a variety of roles including Network Administrator. Her expertise in the nuts-and-bolts of practice-based research (including recruiting clinics, navigating review boards, writing grants, and contributing to study design has made her a vital member of the ORPRN team. LeAnn notes that "NAPCRG has been a central feature during my ORPRN career."

She was instrumental in working with past ORPRN director L.J. Fagnan, MD and PIs across the U.S. to support the creation and success of Meta-LARC, a consortium of practice-based research networks that provides a robust infrastructure capable of managing large clinical trials and practice transformation initiatives. 

Already a high achiever, LeAnn's skills became even more in demand during the response to COVID-19, where she played a critical role in helping adapt research methods and design to stay on target with recruitment goals in a fast-changing world.

"NAPCRG is an international organization that promotes primary care research and provides the setting to develop health services research. Since 2013, Meta-LARC’s annual business meeting has occurred at NAPCRG, and I’ve grown so much in my role learning from world-class primary care researchers in this collaborative and supportive environment. It has provided space to foster many enduring partnerships and it was an incredible honor to be recognized by this amazing group," LeAnn said.

“Through all phases of a project from conceptualization to dissemination, LeAnn  helps facilitate organization, management, and execution. She’s the secret ingredient for many of these projects through which the work gets done." said Melinda Davis, Ph.D., associate professor of family medicine and interim director of ORPRN in her document nominating LeAnn for the award.