Three Minute Thesis

Three Minute Thesis Competition 3MT

Three Minute Thesis Competition at OHSU

Wednesday, May 6, 2015 at 3 p.m. in the OHSU Auditorium

During Research Week 2015, OHSU will hold its third annual Three Minute Thesis Competition for graduate students. 3MT® is an academic competition developed by the University of Queensland, Australia. The exercise develops academic, presentation, and research communication skills as students explain their research in three minutes in a language appropriate to an intelligent but non-specialist audience. Any student enrolled in an OHSU graduate program may participate. 

Registration will begin in April. Stay tuned.

Videos of last year's winners are below, or you can view one video here.

2014 Winners

First place

Andrew Fowler - Efficient Typing with a Brain Computer Interface - Watch video

Second place

Danielle Williamson - Protons, pH and the Proprotein Convertases - Watch video

Audience choice

Asia Mitchell - Non-Random Chromosome Loss in Cancer - Watch video 



  • Presentations are limited to three minutes maximum and competitors exceeding three minutes are disqualified.
  • Presentations are to be spoken word (e.g., no poems, raps, or songs).
  • A single, static PowerPoint slide is permitted (no slide transitions, animations, or movement of any description, the slide is to be presented from the beginning of oration).
  • No additional electronic media (e.g., sound or audio files) or props are permitted.
  • Presentations are considered to have commenced when a presenter starts their presentation through movement or speech.
  • Presentations will be judged by a panel of faculty and non-faculty.


Judging Criteria

  • Communication style: Was the thesis topic and its significance communicated in language appropriate to an intelligent but non-specialist audience?
  • Comprehension: Did the presentation help the audience understand the research?
  • Engagement: Did the oration make the audience want to know more?



First place - $300 cash prize

Runner-up - $200 cash prize

People's choice - $200 cash prize