Award Winners 2013

2013 Oral and poster presentation award winners

Below is a list of students who were recognized for exceptional oral or poster presentations. Students were evaluated on hypothesis, research approach, impact, layout/use of media, and presentation skills. The top 15 percent of presenters were selected for an award. Oral presentation winners receive a $150 cash prize and poster presentation winners receive a $75 cash prize.

Special thanks to Dr. Peter Mayinger and all of our volunteer judges who evaluated over 150 student posters and presentations throughout the week.



Student oral presentation winners

William Giardino, Behavioral Neuroscience
Molly Harding, Neuroscience
Kateryna Kyrylkova, College of Pharmacy
Jenna Ramaker, Behavioral Neuroscience
Theodore Braun, MD/PhD Program
Christoper Whelan, Institute on Development and Disability
Mahnaz Janghorban, Cancer Biology
Worapol Ngamcherdtrakul, Biomedical Engineering
Karen Thiebes, Neuroscience
Merryl Lobo, Biomedical Engineering


Student Poster Presentation Winners

Allison Stickles, Physiology and Pharmacology
Ruth White, School of Medicine
Diane Solomon, School of Nursing
Andrew Terker, School of Medicine
Jonathan Au, Public Health and Preventive Medicine
Katelyn Atkins, Radiation Medicine
Annie Logan, Neuroscience
Abby Rynko, School of Medicine
Aurora Blucher, Medical Informatics and Clinical Epidemiology
Chris Vaaga, Neuroscience
Tyler Risom, Cancer Biology
Katie Tallman, Physiology and Pharmacology
QiLiang Chen, Anesthesiology & Perioperative Medicine
Ryan Gardner, Vollum Institute
Yosef Berlow, Behavioral Neuroscience
Branden Tarlow, Cell & Developmental Biology
Rachel Golda, Environmental and Biomolecular Systems
Mouzhong Xu, Environmental and Biomolecular Systems
Michelle Maier, Environmental and Biomolecular Systems
Diana Parrish, Physiology and Pharmacology


Research Employee Appreciation Awards

Nominees for the following awards were solicited from across the institution. These winners were recognized by their colleagues and peers for their outstanding leadership, dedication, and commitment to research at OHSU. Nominators provided a written nomination letter, and a peer review committee selected winners from among those who were nominated. The winners were announced at the Research Week awards reception on May 23, 2013.

Research Leadership Award

For an individual or group who demonstrates outstanding leadership in research:


Leslie Muldoon, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Blood-Brain Barrier and Neuro-Oncology Program, Department of Neurology


dan marks lab

The Dan Marks Lab research staff including Peter Levasseur, My Linh Nguyen, Marek Szumowski, and Xinxia Zhu


Research Administration Award

For outstanding achievement, initiative, or service in research administration:

Connie You

Connie Yu, Director for Research Support Services in Family Medicine

Research Associate Award

For a research-ranked employee who demonstrates outstanding performance, achievement or initiative:


Colleen Schmitt M.S.W., Research Associate in Psychiatry

Postdoctoral Fellow Award

For a post doc trainee or post doc researcher who demonstrates outstanding performance, achievement or initiative:


Connie Kim Yen Nguyen-Truong, Ph.D., RN, PCCN, Post-Doctoral Fellow at OHSU School of Nursing

Research Hero Award

For research employees who goes above and beyond the call of duty:

yukie bean

Yukie Bean, research associate, lab manager and research coordinator for the Ovarian Tumor registry and ambassador for women with ovarian cancer and women at risk for ovarian cancer 


Lee Ann Bauman

Lee Ann Bauman, research assistant in the Kevin Grove Lab


Three Minute Thesis Competition Winners

3MT® is an academic competition developed by the University of Queensland, Australia. The exercise develops academic, presentation, and research communication skills as students explain their research in three minutes in a language appropriate to an intelligent but non-specialist audience. This contest was open to any student enrolled in an OHSU graduate program. Nearly 30 student participated.

3MT 2013 winners

First place ($300 cash prize)

Abby Rynko - Virus Infection and Asthma: They've got some nerve!

Second Place ($100 cash prize)

Allison Stickles - Quinolone antimalarials: Targeting, toxicity, and drug development

Audience Choice ($100 cash prize)

Lilly Winfree - Does your glia want a sandwich? What about falafel


School of Medicine Papers of the Year

School of Medicine Alumni Association Awards

The Alumni Association Paper Competitions are annual events established to showcase the research efforts of the School of Medicine's residents and postdoctoral fellows.

Postdoctoral Paper of the Year

Christine Ackerman, Ph.D.
"An excess of deleterious variants in VEGF-A pathway genes in down-syndrome-associated atrioventricular septal defects"

Resident Paper of the Year

Allison C. Nauta, M.D.
"Adipose-derived stromal cells over-expressing vascular endothelial growth factor accelerate mouse excisional wound healing"

School of Medicine Award

Student papers are nominated by School of Medicine faculty members. Awards are decided by the School of Medicine Graduate Programs Committee and are based on the novelty of the findings and impact of the work.

Student Paper of the Year

Isabella Baconguis, Ph.D.
"Structural plasticity and dynamic selectivity of acid-sensing ion channel-spider toxin complexes"
Published in Nature 489, 400-405 (20 September 2012)