2016 Award Winners


Below is a list of students and postdocs who were recognized for exceptional oral and poster presentations. Students were evaluated on hypothesis, research approach, impact, layout/use of media, and presentation skills. The top 15 percent of presenters were selected for an award. Presentation winners receive a cash prize. 

Special thanks to all of our volunteer judges who evaluated over 200 student posters and presentations throughout the week.

Postdoc poster presentation winners

1st place: Arpita Ray, “Investigating the neuroprotective role of the glial engulfment receptor Draper in a drosophila model of Alzheimer’s disease”

2nd place: Douglas Martini, “Long-term effects of adolescent concussion history on cognition”

3rd place: Thomas Meyer, “Retrotransposon-associated differential expression of genes in macaques”

Postdoc oral presentation winners

1st place: Saurabh Thosar, “Endogenous circadian rhythm in vascular function and cardiovascular risk”

2nd place: Chelsey Dawn Kline, “Understanding the roles of antioxidants in human melanocytes and melanoma”

3rd place: Daniel Coleman, “Androgen content and BET bromodomain proteins influence enzalutamide agonism of mutant F876L androgen receptor”

Student oral presentation winners

Brittany Alperin, “ADHD and emotion dysregulation: An issue with top-down or bottom-up processing of emotional stimuli?”

Charlie Gast, “Cancer-macrophage fusion as a mechanism for metastatic disease”

Tyler T. Risom, “Measuring and managing phenotypic heterogeneity in basal-like breast cancer to improve therapeutic control”

Christie Pizzimenti, “Context-independent effects of footshock on drug-seeking”

Courtney Brooke Betts, “Reproductive state-dependent alterations in mammary dendritic cells and a potential role for collagen”

Sharmeen Chagani, “Role of vitamin D3-vitamin D receptor (VDR) signaling in melanocyte homeostasis and UV-induced DNA damage”

Katie Tallman, “Mycobacterial enzyme profiling with chemical tools”

Cymon Kersch, “The role of αvβ3-integrin and HER2 in breast cancer metastasis to the brain

Rebecca Hood, “Cortical activation as a mechanism of neuroprotection in a mouse model of Parkinson’s disease”

Chelsea Jenkins, “Defining the functional role of TNK2 in PTPN11-mutant JMML”

Student poster presentation winners

Mady Stovall, “Moral injury in nurse second victims: Wounded healers in the workforce”

Emily Calabro, “ost-traumatic growth’s influence on experienced ICU nurses”

Audrey Anne Drake, “Using a points of health resource map for the Medicaid population: A pilot study”

Joshua Garrison Burkhart, “ReactomeFIFusion: Discovering gene fusion events’ effects on protein-protein interactions”

Quin Denfeld, “Physical symptoms and depression interact in predicting quality-of-life in heart failure”

Paul Jones, “A case series: Optimal timing of pediatric hip spica casting in children with isolated diaphyseal femur fractures”

Patricia Ann Barfield, “Life satisfaction in children with ADHD: A mixed-methods study proposal”

Amy Rey Williams, “Effects of acute ethanol withdrawal and intoxication on the extinction and reconditioning of contextual fear memories”

Elizabeth Rosa Sunderhaus, “The role of ER stress in neuropathy target esterase-related diseases”

Michael Ha, “Micropatterned ECM-derived gelatin methacryloyl hydrogels for dental pulp regeneration”

Molly Rae Rabinowitz, “Gender disparities in small group verbal participation among first year medical students”

Ginger Keller, “Determining level, direction, and rate of change of attentional function in women with breast cancer receiving chemotherapy: A pilot study”

Wafaa BinAli, “Bring continuous back to CRRT!”

Christopher Abdullah, “Estrogen stimulates cell cycle progression dependent upon SRC kinase activity”

Ryan Mulqueen, “Characterization of Rett syndrome and wild-type neuronal methylomes by single-cell bisulfite sequencing”

Three Minute Thesis winners

1st place: Kevin Watanabe-Smith, cancer biology, “Which mutations cause cancer?”

2nd place: Kevin Burfeind, M.D./Ph.D., neuroscience graduate program, “Infiltrating leukocytes in the hypothalamus as mediators of cancer cachexia”

People’s Choice: Allison Stickles,M.D./Ph.D., physiology and pharmacology, “One is the safest number”

Ugly Data Award

The Ugly Data Award was designed to underscore the message that succeeding in science might mean failing at science—in other words, without failure, you never progress. The award is given to brave souls who put their failures out there. This year’s winners are:

Nathan Bahr

Brittany Alperin