Westbrook Lab: Members

Westbrook Lab Home | Projects | Members | Alumni

Go to Gary Westbrook's Faculty Profile


Gary WestbrookGary L. Westbrook (westbroo@ohsu.edu)
MSE, MD, Case Western Reserve, 1976

Dr. Westbrook received clinical training in Internal Medicine and Neurology in Boston and St. Louis, and research training at the National Institutes of Health. He is Senior Scientist and Co-Director of the Vollum Institute and the Dixon Professor of Neurology at OHSU. His research interests are the mechanisms of synaptic transmission in the nervous system. Dr. Westbrook has been active in OHSU training activities in disease-oriented neuroscience research. He initiated the Neurobiology of Disease course in the graduate program, and currently serves as the Director of the Neuroscience Graduate Program at OHSU.


Christina ChatziChristina Chatzi (chatzi@ohsu.edu)
PhD, University of Aberdeen, UK, 2007

Christina joined the Westbrook lab in October 2011 from the Burnham Institute in La Jolla, California. She brings a strong background in developmental biology and stem cell biology that will greatly enhance the group.



Eric SchnellEric Schnell (schneler@ohsu.edu)
MD, PhD, University of California, San Francisco, 2004

Eric is an Assistant Professor of Anesthesiology who performs his clinical work at the Portland VA and is working on his research as part of the Westbrook lab. Eric is interested in adult-generated newborn neurons and their role in neuroplasticity in the brain, with a particular interest in the synaptogenic molecules, neuroligins, as well as the cellular and network effects of concussive head injuries.


Chris VaagaChris Vaaga (vaaga@ohsu.edu)
BS, Neurobiology, University of Washington, 2010

Chris joined the lab in 2011 as a graduate student in the Neuroscience Graduate Program. He is interested in studying the olfactory bulb microcircuit, specifically the contribution of local dual-transmitter neurons to microcircuit function. Chris received a National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship in 2011 as well as a Tartar Trust Fellowship (2013) and ARCS scholarship (2011).