OHSU Residents Dominate at Contact Bee

Patricia Norris, M.D. and Jill Moore, M.D.
Patricia Norris, M.D. and Jill Moore, M.D.

Dr. Jill Moore wins the American Contact Dermatitis Society’s allergen contest

For the second year in a row, an OHSU resident took home the first place trophy and cash prize for the American Contact Dermatitis Society’s (ACDS) allergen contest. At the ACDS annual meeting this past March, the Contact Allergen Bee's first-place prize went to resident, Jill Moore, M.D. (Dr. Moore will be a third-year resident beginning in July and is one of the co-chief residents.)  

The OHSU residents have dominated this event with Alexander Jack, M.D., finishing first in 2012 and Gretchen Vanderbeek, M.D., finishing in third place in 2011. Dr. Moore said the previous high marks earned by OHSU residents added an element of pressure to her competition this year which prompted a dedicated focus and many hours of studying. “I owe a lot of my success to Patti Norris for spending several two-hour sessions after clinics helping me study, as well as a four-hour session one Sunday morning at a coffee shop,” says Moore. 

Dr. Moore also utilized the bank of flash cards that the department’s previous contestants created and studied from each year, logging hours on her flight to Miami and in her hotel room the night before the Bee. 

To win the Bee, participants must first pass through a qualifying round that consists of a written test with multiple-choice questions. The top-place contestants then vie head to head in front of the annual meeting audience. Dr. Moore commented that the event was made even more special since she was able to meet the audience members, many of whom were the authors of the various papers she had studied for the Bee. All of the questions are based on papers published in Dermatitis from 2009 through 2012.

Finally, Dr. Moore said it was fun to hear Fran’s shrieking when she won. Dr. Storrs was in the audience along with Drs. Norris, Jon Hanifin and alumna and former faculty, Brooke Sikora.

Congratulations, Dr. Moore!