Student Support

Julie and student
The John A. Hartford Foundation has created a strong tradition of building academic geriatric nursing capacity through mentorship. This helps prepare the next generations of gerontological nursing leaders. Here at the OHSU School of Nursing’s Hartford Center of Gerontological Nursing Excellence faculty continue that tradition; through mentoring faculty commit to providing a firm foundation for academic careers. Our faculty work closely with PhD students, advance practice nursing students and undergraduate students and, together, they contribute substantively to the knowledge base related to care for older adults. 

Hartford Award for Research and Practice-PhD Student

dsolomon-webWe would like to congratulate Diane Solomon in being the 2015 recipient of the PhD student Hartford Award for Research and Practice (HARP).  Diane will receive $2,000 toward the completion of her dissertation. The focus of Diane's research is the relationship between older dying women and their daughter/caregivers and will be a valuable addition to our body of knowledge about end of life care.


OHSU nursing students demonstrate a commitment to careers in nursing education, practice, and research that will benefit older adults.  To support their studies, gerontological nursing students have successfully attracted $3.5 million in financial support since 2002.

OHSU Undergraduate Gerontological Nursing Honors Program

We have created a gerontological nursing honors track in our undergraduate program and have secured funding from The Hearst Foundations, supplemented by discretionary funds from the Oregon Community Foundation and designated to the HCGNE by OHSU President Robertson, to provide tuition support for students. 

The Gerontological Nursing Honors Program (GNHP) is designed for outstanding undergraduate nursing students in the OCNE and Baccalaureate Completion programs to receive additional mentorship and credits related to working with aging adults. This unique honors program helps undergraduate students to better understand the needs of our aging populations and prepares students for taking the next step in their education with an in-depth focus in gerontological nursing. GNHP students receive a small stipend and scholarship funding in the final year of the two-year program of study to offset the costs for the additional three credits required as part of the honors curriculum.

New Undergraduate Gerontological Honors Students

Ellie Atkin
Lauren Beyerle
Anne Conners
Pesa Coslow
Shelby Griggs
Stephanie Rodriguez
Lauren Susort
Caitlin Walters 

Class of 2015 Undergraduate Gerontological Honors Students

Carron Gutierrez
Allison Peterson
Gwen Lambert
Julie Townsend 

Class of 2016 Undergraduate Gerontological Honors Students

Amber Knapp
Michael Kolbas
Gina Umble
Jessica Watson

National Graduate Fellowships & Scholarships:

2015-2017 National Research Service Award
Quin Denfeld

2014-2016 Claire M. Fagin Fellow
Corey Nagel

2014-2016 Patricia G. Archbold Scholar
Daniel Mick

2014-2016 National Research Service Award
Lyndsey Miller Julie Bidwell

 2013-2015 JAHF Patricia G. Archbold Scholars
Julie Bidwell
Quin Denfeld

2012-2014 JAHF Patricia G. Archbold Scholar
Lyndsey Miller

2011-2013 JAHF BAGNC Scholar
Paula Nagy

2010-2012 Claire M. Fagin Fellow
Teresa Goodell

2009-2011 Claire M. Fagin Fellow
Glenise McKenzie

2009-2011 JAHF BAGNC Scholars
Corey Nagel
Kris Weymann

2008-2010 JAHF BAGNC Scholar
Yi Yan

2007-2009 Claire M. Fagin Fellow
Elena Siegel

2007-2009 JAHF BAGNC Scholars
Rebecca Scobee
Miriam Volpin

2006-2008 JAHF BAGNC Scholars
Elizabeth Caley
Carol Kemp
Kathryn Sexson

2005 - 2007 JAHF BAGNC Predoctoral Scholars
Colleen Casey
Kristen Swafford

2004 JAHF BAGNC Predoctoral Scholar
Casey Raquel Shillam

2003 JAHF BAGNC Predoctoral Scholars
Carla Hagen
Jeanette O'Brien

2002 JAHF BAGNC Predoctoral Scholar
Karen E. Greco

2001 JAHF BAGNC Predoctoral Scholar
Karen B. Tetz

2001 JAHF BAGNC Post-doctoral Scholar
Lissi Hansen