Norwood Knight-Richardson, M.D., M.B.A.

Norwood Knight-Richardson, M.D., M.B.A.

Norwood Knight-Richardson, M.D., M.A., M.B.A.

Senior Vice President and Chief Diversity Officer, OHSU
Associate Professor of Psychiatry
Vice Chair, Department of Psychiatry


B.A. (Psychology), University of Texas
M.A. (International Relations and Economics) Fletcher School of Law and Diplomacy, Tufts University/Harvard University
M.B.A., Harvard Graduate School of Business Adminstration
M.D., University of Texas Medical School
Psychiatry Residency, University of Washington



Dr. Norwood Knight-Richardson's academic interests range from individual mental health to the administration of public psychiatry. He majored in psychology and minored in government at the University of Texas, and attended Fletcher School of Law and Diplomacy, Tufts /Harvard Universities, where he earned an M.A. in international relations and a M.B.A. in administration and general finance. He then changed direction to study medicine at the University of Texas and trained in psychiatry at the University of Washington.

Dr. Knight-Richardson joined the OHSU Department of Psychiatry faculty in May 2003. He is a senior policy adviser to university administration and participates in the development of special projects for the President of OHSU and the Dean of the School of Medicine. His responsibilities within the department of psychiatry include review and consultation for the psychiatry inpatient unit, teaching, and faculty practice.

Prior to taking his position at OHSU, Dr. Knight-Richardson had been medical director of St. Mary's Hospital, Galveston, Texas; chief psychiatrist of the State of Alaska; director/chief executive officer of the Alaska Psychiatric Institute; president/chief medical officer of Continuum Healthcare Services, Inc.; medical director of Caremark Behavioral Health, and chief of psychiatry at Legacy/Emanuel Hospital.

His community involvement and public service have included membership on the Citizens Advisory Committee to the Texas Mental Health Board and vice chairmanship of the Texas Commission on Alcohol and Substance Abuse. He has also served on the President's New Freedom Commission on Mental Health and is a member of the National Advisory Mental Health Council for the National Institutes of Mental Health.