John Raaf Day Lecture

John RaafThe Department of Neurological Surgery in the OHSU School of Medicine is proud to recognize the accomplishments of John Raaf, M.D., (1905 – 2000), widely regarded as the father of neurosurgery in Oregon. Raaf advanced the profession during his years as chairman of neurosurgery at Good Samaritan Hospital by creating an outstanding resource for the neurosciences community in the Pacific Northwest.

The 24th John Raaf Day Lecturer — Jon H. Robertson, M.D.

Saturday, October 11, 2014
Center for Health & Healing, 3rd floor; 3070-Room 4
3303 SW Bond Ave, Portland

8:30 am Refreshments
9:30 am The Challenges for Future Neurosurgical Education
10.30 am Break
10.45 am A Southern Neurosurgeon's Legacy

Raaf Lecturer

Jon H. Robertson, M.D., graduated from Southwestern College (now Rhodes) in Memphis, Tennessee with a BA in 1968. He was accepted to the University of Tennessee Medical School in 1968, obtaining his medical degree In 1971. He spent his internship year at the City of Memphis Hospitals and completed his residency in Neurosurgery at the University of Tennessee Center for the Health Sciences, In 1979. Immediately following completion of his residency training in 1979, Dr. Robertson became a member of the Semmes-Murphey Clinic and Assistant Professor in the Department of Neurosurgery at the University of Tennessee Center for Health Sciences. He was promoted to Associate Professor in 1984, served as Interim Chairman 1995-1996, and assumed the Chairmanship of the Department of Neurosurgery at the University of Tennessee in 1997. He retired from the University of Tennessee in July, 2011. Dr. Robertson has continued a limited practice with the Semmes-Murphey Clinic, and has enjoyed his role as a senior faculty member in the UT Neurosurgical Department. In April 2013, the AANS bestowed Jon H. Robertson, FAANS, with its highest member honor, the Harvey Cushing Medal. In addition to his volunteer and academic activities, Dr. Robertson has maintained an active practice in neurological surgery with the Semmes-Murphey Neurologic & Spine Institute for the past 35 years. His clinical practice has focused on the surgical management of tumors affecting the cranial base of the skull. 

Accreditation: Accreditation:Oregon Health & Science University School of Medicine is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education to provide continuing medical education for physicans.

Credit: OHSU School of Medicine, Division of CME, designates this live activity for a maximum of 2.0 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits™. Physicians should claim only the credit commensurate with the extent of their participation in the activity.

Target Audience: Neurological surgeons and the neuroscience community.

Course Objectives: To further education of the neuroscience community by introducing innovative, state-of-the art techniques in the field of neurological surgery RSVP 503-494-6207,

Past John Raaf Day Lecturers

  • Lawrence F. Marshall, M.D. — 1991
  • John A. Jane, M.D., Ph.D. — 1992
  • Julian T. Hoff, M.D. — 1993
  • Albert L. Rhoton Jr., M.D. — 1994
  • Martin H. Weiss, M.D. — 1995
  • Robert H. Wilkins, M.D. — 1996
  • John M. Tew Jr., M.D. — 1997
  • Donlin M. Long, M.D., Ph.D. — 1998
  • Robert Grossman, M.D. — 1999
  • William A. Buchheit, M.D. — 2000
  • Russel Hugo Patterson Jr., M.D. — 2001
  • Charles B. Wilson, M.D. — 2002
  • H. Richard Winn, M.D. — 2003
  • R. Michael Scott, M.D. — 2004
  • David G. Piepgras, M.D. — 2005
  • Edward R. Laws Jr., M.D., F.A.C.S. — 2006
  • Volker K.H. Sonntag, M.D. — 2007
  • A. John Popp, M.D. — 2008
  • William F. Chandler, M.D. — 2009
  • Robert Spetzler, M.D., F.A.C.S. — 2010
  • Roberto C. Heros, M.D., F.A.C.S. — 2011
  • Donald O. Quest, M.D. — 2012
  • Duke Samson, M.D. — 2013