Endowed Lecture Series

2015 Shutter Lecture Speaker


"Drug Discovery at Challenging Targets"

James A. Wells, Ph.D.
Chair, Department of Pharmaceutical Chemistry
University of California, San Francisco

Thursday May 21, 2015 4-5pm
Reception to follow

Lillian Shutter, MD Memorial Lecture

Dr. Lillian Shutter was a member of the class of 1932 of the University of Oregon School of Medicine, now the Oregon Health & Science School of Medicine.  She had a distinguished career in medicine in California and wrote numerous articles on the effects of various drug regimens on different therapy modalities. During her lifetime, Dr. Shutter established the Shutter Memorial Scholarship Fund in memory of her mother, who inspired her to go to medical school.  Scholarship recipients were to be deserving female students of the medical school.  She viewed these women as "her" students and treasured the letters that she received from them.Funds from Dr. Shutter's estate were designated to support an annual lectureship in the Department of Physiology and Pharmacology at Oregon Health & Science University.

Past Speakers

William & Carmela Riker Memorial Lecture

This fund was established in 1981 to honor the memory of Carmela Louise Riker, the wife of Dr. William K. Riker, chair of Pharmacology at OHSU for 21 years. Through her activities in the Medical School Alliance and OHSU Volunteer Services, Mrs. Riker made important contributions to enhancing patient facilities and supporting medical students. Following the death in 2004 of William Riker, the Riker family and the Department of Physiology and Pharmacology decided to honor his memory by renaming the fund.  This lectureship supports an annual invited lecture by a distinguished scientist and educator in the field of pharmacology.
The annual lectures are supported by the income from The William K. and Carmela L. Riker Memorial Lecture Fund of the OHSU Foundation. The Lecture Fund was initially established through the many generous donations of friends, family, colleagues and organizations. The Lecture Fund principal continues to grow because of ongoing donations in Dr. and Mrs. Riker's memory. Contributions may be made to the OHSU Foundation/William K. and Carmela L. Riker Memorial Lecture Fund.

Past Speakers

2014 Goodman Lecture Speaker



"Seven Transmembrane Receptors"

Robert J. Lefkowitz, MD
James B. Duke Professor of Medicine
Investigator of Howard Hughes Medical Institute

Thursday Sept 11th, 2014  4-5pm
Reception to follow

Goodman Lecture

The Goodman Lecture, funded by a generous gift from Sterling Drug Inc. to the Department of Pharmacology in 1982 to bring preeminent pharmacologists to Oregon Health Sciences University, was established in 1996. The Lecture Program honors Dr. Louis S. Goodman, the 1932 distinguished graduate of the University of Oregon Medical School (the founding institution of OHSU). Dr. Goodman is the noted author of Goodman and Gilman's The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics. Now in its 11th edition, this text has been translated into numerous languages and is the standard text for Pharmacology world wide.

Past Speakers

2015 Brookhart Lecture Speaker


"Internal states and behavioral decisions: the paradox of sex and violence"

David J. Anderson, Ph.D.
Seymour Benzer Professor of Biology
Investigator of Howard Hughes Medical Institute
California Institute of Technology

Thursday May 28th, 2015 3-4pm
Vollum Auditorium   Reception to follow

Brookhart Lecture

The Brookhart Lecture was established under the guidance of the late former chairman of the Physiology Department, John Brookhart (1913-1995). Dr. Brookhart was very active in the American Physiological Society and served as its 38th President. Through generous donations by Dr. Brookhart and his family, the endowed lecture series was initiated in 1991 and has hosted numerous distinguished visitors.

                                                IMG_1097  IMG_1105  IMG_1123
Past Speakers