Carmem Pfeifer wins WAM award!

Carmem Pfeifer, PhD, was selected as the winner of the 2018 WAM Discovery Award for Inspiring Women in Science. The award was presented at a ceremony on January 30, 2018. The Women in Academic Medicine created the annual WAM Awards to recognize individuals who support the success of women in academic medicine, and to recognize the leadership of women at OHSU. Congratulations Dr. Pfeifer!
(shown front to back: Carmem Pfeifer, Rose McPharlin,
Jack Ferracane, Kirsten Lampi, Justin Merritt, Jens Kreth)
Carmem Pfeifer WAM Award

News & Announcements

Congratulations to our outstanding faculty for their great accomplishments in 2017!

Silvia Amaya-Pajares

  • Outstanding Faculty Award 2016/2017 received from OHSU DMD Class of 2020
  • ADEA/AAL Faculty of Color Tuition Scholarships for Professional Development: 2017 ADEA Leadership Institute Phase V Leadership Development Tuition scholarship –ADEA Summer Program for Emerging Academic Leaders.

Todd Beck

  • Newly elected President of the Oregon Board of Dentistry

Luiz Bertassoni

  • Helped develop a process to engineer artificial blood vessels which are used to generate teeth, possibly changing the way root canal treatments will be done in the future. Study published in the journal Scientific Reports

Kim Doyle

  • During a state meeting in October, Ms. Kim Doyle was sworn in as one of the four members of the Board of the Oregon Association of Dental Laboratories. She will serve as Education chair and the term is for the 2018 year. This coming year, the association is trying to partner with the dentists and dental students in the state for mutual continuing education.  Kim hopes to be an asset to the association and to represent OHSU.

Jack Ferracane

  • Completed term as President of the American Association for Dental Research

Tom Hilton

  • Academy of Operative Dentistry's Award of Excellence at their annual meeting in Chicago in February 2017. The Award of Excellence was established in 1986 to recognize outstanding contributions to the discipline of Operative Dentistry in areas of, but not limited to: Service to the Academy;Teaching of operative dentistry at academic and continuing education levels;Promotion of excellence in operative dentistry at a national or international level.

Tobie Jones 

  • 2017 ADEA Leadership Institute Phase V Leadership Development Tuition scholarship – ADEA Summer Program for Emerging Academic Leaders.

Thad Langford

  • Completed term as President of American Academy of Restorative Dentistry

Peter Morita

  • Appointed to the Alumni Association Board 

Dennis Nicola

  • "Outstanding Service Award" from Compassion Connect in recognition of his 5 years of encouraging and supervising OHSU dental students at Compassion Clinics.

Carmem Pfeifer

  • Carmem Pfeifer was selected as the winner of the 2018 WAM Discovery Award for Women in Science and will receive the award on Tuesday January 30, 2018.
  • The IADR Dental Materials Group election ended October 31, 2017.  Carmem S. Pfeifer was elected as Vice President.  Her term will begin at the conclusion of the 2018 IADR/PER General Session and Exhibition in London, England, UK (July 25-218, 2018).

Barry Taylor

  • Recipient of Fellowship in the International College of Dentists. Fellowship in the College is extended by invitation only. The Fellowship is awarded to dentists who have demonstrated, "outstanding professional achievement, meritorious service and dedication to the continued progress of dentistry for the benefit of humankind."