Steering Committee and Advisory Council


The Steering Committee is a committee of community representatives committed to promoting the highest ethical standards in health care through collaboration with the OHSU Center for Ethics in Health Care. The Steering Committee provides the Center leadership with:

  • Dialogue about current community concerns and statewide issues that reflect ethical questions within Oregon.
  • Direction for strategic planning and vision.
  • Development guidance and expertise.

2016 Steering Committee members:

Gary T. Chicodo, DMD, Chair
Ann Barden
Phyllis Beemsterboer, MS, EdD
David Clarke, MD
Barbara Durkheimer
Walter Grebe
Mary Lago
Barbara K. Rice
Susan Tolle, MD

The work of the Center for Ethics in Health Care is advanced by the friend raising efforts of the Advisory Council.

2016 Advisory Council members:

Lisa Andrus-Rivera, PhD
Amanda Ashley
Ann Barden
Phyllis Beemsterboer, MS, EdD
Evona Brim
Gwyneth Gamble Booth
Barbara Durkheimer
Karen Early
Barbara Rice
Carol Santesson
Barbara Sloop
Cornelia Hayes Stevens
Joan Strand