Board of Trustees


Ann Payne Edlen, Chair
William A. Berg, Vice Chair & Secretary
Stephen T. Janik, J.D., Vice Chair, Nominating & Engagement Committee Chair, and Property Committee Chair
Eric E. Parsons, Immediate Past Chair
Vincent P. Price, Vice Chair, Treasurer

Current Members

  • Stephen E. Babson, J.D.
  • Brad Blumenfeld
  • Jeffrey M. Borlaug
  • Nels L. Carlson, M.D. '92
  • Deborah J. Carter, B.S. '77
  • Maureen D. Casey
  • Jorge G. Casimiro
  • Alice B. Davies
  • Daniel M. Dorsa, Ph.D.
  • Ruth J. Fisher
  • Mark P. Goodman
  • Walter H. Grebe, J.D.
  • Patrick J. Green, J.D., LLM. Tax
  • Kelly I. Hale
  • J. Clayton Hering
  • George W. Hosfield
  • Don R. Kania, Ph.D.
  • Craig A. Kelly
  • Robert D. Kraus
  • Mary E. Lago, C.T.F.A.
  • Priscilla Longfield
  • Joseph D. Matarazzo, Ph.D.
  • Xandra T. McKeown
  • Greg Ness
  • Selma Moon Pierce, D.D.S.
  • Joseph E. Robertson, Jr., M.D. R '82
  • Donald J. Sirianni, D.M.D. '64
  • Rob Shick
  • Barbara A. Silver
  • Nicholas J. Stanley
  • Julie Neupert Stott
  • William R. Swindells
  • Ronald E. Timpe
  • Keith L. Thomson
  • Jeanie L. Thornburg, Marquam Hill Steering
  • Steven Ungerleider, Ph.D.
  • Jason P. Waxman
  • Roderick C. Wendt
  • James H. Winkler
  • Jay N. Zidell


Life Members

  • Jean F. Bates
  • Kenneth R. Berg, D.M.D.
  • Susan W. Black
  • Paul E. Bragdon, J.D.
  • George H. Caspar, M.D.
  • John D. Eskildsen
  • James D. Fearl, M.D.
  • Cynthia J. Ford
  • Lesley M. Hallick, Ph.D.
  • Joseph J. Hanna, Jr., J.D., LL.M.
  • Michael G. Holmes
  • The Hon. Elizabeth K. Johnson
  • Frank Jungers
  • Peter O. Kohler, M.D.
  • Robert D. Kraus
  • Ruth H. Layton
  • Georgia M. Lee, M.D.
  • Joanne M. Lilley
  • Ernest H. McCall
  • Robert G. Murray
  • Shirley N. Papé, R.D.
  • George J. Passadore
  • Carmen E. Phillips
  • Peter T. Pope
  • Ronald K. Ragen
  • Daniel C. Regis
  • Richard A. Rubinstein
  • James H. Rudd
  • Arlene D. Schnitzer
  • Cornelia Hayes Stevens
  • Phyllis J. Sutter
  • A. William Sweet
  • Hank Swigert
  • Theodore J. Vigeland, M.D.

About the board

The OHSU Foundation is governed by a volunteer board of trustees comprised of civic and business leaders. Trustees are responsible for formulating long-range goals and policies for the foundation. Board members exhibit a broad range of skills and experience in order to effectively carry out their fiduciary responsibilities. Specifically, backgrounds in management, finance and audit, administration, investment and nonprofit management are beneficial, as well as an understanding of academic medical centers. Board members are philanthropically minded and support Oregon Health & Science University with significant gifts. Members are advocates for OHSU’s vital mission and have the capacity and willingness to influence others to support the organization. Board members exhibit these characteristics: intelligence, mature judgment, highest personal and professional ethics, objectivity and superior communication skills. We seek diversity in ethnicity, gender, geography and profession to bring a variety of perspectives and voices to the board.