Pathology Home Diagnostic Tests Consultations faculty index Fellowships index Research index Residency index
Michael Cascio, MD
Hematopathologist & Surgical Pathologist
Rank: Assistant Professor
Clinical Services: Hematopathology, Surgical Pathology
Clinical Interests: Hematopathology, in particular, the diagnosis and classification of nodal and extranodal lymphomas; general surgical pathology.
Research Interests: Discovery of novel diagnostic and prognostic markers in hematolymphoid neoplasms.
2007    MD, University of Nevada School of Medicine


2007-2012    Anatomic and Clinical Pathology Residency, University of California San Francisco
2010-2011    Surgical Pathology Fellowship, University of California San Francisco
2012-2013    Hematopathology Fellowship, Stanford University
2013 Hematology
2012 Anatomic and Clinical Pathology
Previous Position:
Selected References:
Cascio MJ and Lu CM. Serum free light chain analysis and plasma cell neoplasms. American Society of Clinical Pathology Check Sample. (In press)

Cascio MJ, O'Donnell RJ, Horvai AE. Epithelioid sarcoma expresses epidermal growth factor receptor but gene amplification and kinase domain mutations are rare. Mod Pathol. 2010 Apr;23(4):574-80.

Cascio M, Xing Y, Gong D, Popovich J, Eger EI 2nd, Sen S, Peltz G, Sonner JM. Mouse chromosome 7 harbors a quantitative trait locus for isoflurane minimum alveolar concentration. Anesth Analg. 2007 Aug;105(2):381-5.

Cascio M and Gollard R. Pseudomyxoma peritonei. Consultant 2007. Vol. 47 No. 4.

Sonner JM, Cascio M, Xing Y, Fanselow MS, Kralic JE, Morrow AL, Korpi ER, Hardy S, Sloat B, Eger EI 2nd, Homanics GE. Alpha 1 subunit-containing GABA type A receptors in forebrain contribute to the effect of inhaled anesthetics on conditioned fear. Molecular Pharmacology 2005; 68(1):61-8.

Xing Y, Sonner JM, Eger EI 2nd, Cascio M, Sessler DI. Mice with a melanocortin 1 receptor mutation have a slightly greater minimum alveolar concentration than control mice. Anesthesiology. 2004 Aug;101(2):544-6.

Last Updated: 02/17/2010