Emergency Medicine News

OHSU EM reception at ACEP 2016

Dr. John Ma with event guest.

Alumni and friends of the OHSU Department of Emergency Medicine were recognized at a reception during the American College of Emergency Physicians' Scientific Assembly in Las Vegas on October 18, 2016. The event was co-hosted by department chair O. John Ma, M.D., and chair emeritus John Moorhead, M.D., M.S.

Dr. Ma provided an overview on the growth of the Department, emphasizing how Emergency Medicine has played a key role in each of OHSU's missions. David Jones, M.D., M.B.S., Assistant Professor, updated alumni on the residency program growth and summarized how the Jerris Hedges and John Moorhead endowment funds have supported the growth of junior faculty. Esther Choo, M.D., M.P.H., Associate Professor, reviewed the Department's research accomplishment with NIH funding, training grants, and the national impact of the Department's research on trauma care, the management of cardiac arrest, end-of-life-care, syncope, CCOs and healthcare transformation. A video message from chair emeritus Jerris Hedges, M.D., M.S., M.M.M., Dean and Professor of the John A. Burns School of Medicine, University of Hawaii, encouraged continued support of the endowment funds. Dr. Moorhead remarked on how many of the residency alumni are playing important roles within healthcare. He summarized how "proud" he felt of the people and the department.

"It was wonderful seeing so many of the people who have impacted the OHSU Department of Emergency Medicine," Dr. John Ma said. "Our faculty, staff, residents, and fellows have played such a pivotal role in the success of our department over the years."

Dr. Ma wrapped up the evening with some closing remarks, looking ahead to the next 25 years for the Department of Emergency Medicine.

Event Gallery

Return to Emergency Medicine News

Related Links

ACEP Scientific Assembly

Connect With Us